A Special Post for Mr. Geiman’s Class in Pennsylvania, USA

 

 

Hi there to the students from Mr. Geiman’s class in Pennsylvania, in the USA

who are doing the Student Blogging Challenge.

We thought you might be interested to read about the differences between

the way we speak English here, in Ireland

and the way you speak it in America.

 

If any of you were coming to visit us here in Ireland,

the different way

we use English might make things a bit confusing.

If you asked for a scone this is what we would give you:

Scone eltpics via Compfight

We would serve it with jam and cream.

By jam we mean jelly.

raspberry jam Christa via Compfight

Mmm, this looks like raspberry.

If you asked for jelly, we would give you this;

Jelly poppet with a camera via Compfight

We call these crisps

Builders Breakfast Edward Kimber via Compfight

Though we wouldn’t eat them with a knife and fork,

we might put them in a sandwich.

We call these chips:

Large Chips - Zest Wraps QV AUD4Creative Commons License Alpha via Compfight

unless we are in McDonald’s, in which case

we call them ‘french fries’.

We think it is interesting, that

although both the Irish

and the Americans speak English,

they speak if differently.

4 thoughts on “A Special Post for Mr. Geiman’s Class in Pennsylvania, USA

  1. It’s Luke from the student blog challenge .

    I found that piece of writing very informative. I don’t completely understand how I would get Ms.W the post. Do I put the post in a comment or do I just put a link to the post in the comment I thought I might just ask. Thank you!
    PS: If you could put your response on my blog that would be very nice.

  2. Hi Luke,
    Thank you for your comment.
    You are right. You just put a link to the post in a comment.
    I will put this information on your blog also.
    With every good wish
    Merry Beau

  3. Hi Lily,
    Thanks for your comment.
    Beagles are a dog with a lot of character. Lucky you.
    I am glad you liked the wizard.
    You could have one too. I will leave the details on your blog.
    I am going to take a look at your new post now.
    With every good wish
    Merry Beau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *