Prayer Service : All Souls

light is life
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: eNriKeFot☮ via Compfight

Good morning & welcome to the school hall on this special day

when we remember the people we love who have gone home to God.

 

Sign of the Cross x3

(God came down…In the name of the Father… As Gaeilge)

 

Candle Prayer; ‘Chase away the darkness.

Fill the world with light,

be a little candle flame and shine out bright’.

First song: This little light of mine.

 

Why do we light a candle?

To remind us that God our Father in Heaven is always with us.

Song; If I go climbing/rowing/swimming/ driving/ flying/ sleeping

 

Now it is time to say GOOD MORNING

to God our Father in Heaven

and to remember how much he loves us.

 

Father in Heaven, you love me…

I’ll try to please you Father. That is not always easy.

But if we do make mistakes and are sorry in our hearts,

then God our Father in Heaven will always forgive us.

 

So let’s say SORRY to God

O my God I thank you for loving me.

I am sorry for all my sins,

for not loving others and not loving you.

Help me to live like Jesus and not sin again. Amen

 

And now it is time to say THANKS to God

God our Father I come to say,

thank you for your love today.

Thank you for my family and all the friends you give to me.

Guard me in the dark of night and in the morning,

please send your light. Amen.

 

What day is it? Month?

Next month: November is the month of the holy souls

and we believe that just as Jesus died and rose again

to share new life with God Our Father in Heaven;

so too are all our loved ones happily living their new life with God

 

Good News! The Bible tells us there will be no more tears in heaven.

Those who have gone to heaven will never be hungry or thirsty

because God is there and he minds them.

one in a million
Photo Credit: jenny downing via Compfight

Jesus tells us not to worry.

He says if God looks after the flowers in the fields

and the birds in the trees so well,

surely he will look after us even better.

He says the flowers in the fields don’t worry

so why should we.

Song; The Flowers in the Fields

 

Even though we cannot see the people we love

who are in Heaven,

we remember them.

We have photos to help us remember,

and memorial cards, we light candles.

When my Granny died I planted lots and lots of bulbs

and every spring when they flower I think of her.

Now I need some helpers to help me plant some bulbs.

 

Here is a prayer to say:

God through your goodness

we have these little bulbs to plant.

God we ask you to care for these daffodil bulbs

and help them to grow.

God with the work of our hands

we have planted these bulbs.

Keep these bulbs safe.

Watch over them through the dark of winter,

until the light of Spring shines again, Amen.

 

Now try this one;

The little bulbs are now fast asleep

safe in the earth they lie

The children have covered them over

and said little brown bulbs goodbye

The bulbs are asleep,

but the sunshine and rain will help them

wake up to new life in Spring.

 

Even though we cannot see the people

we love who are in Heaven,

we remember them.

We know they are with us always.

They never go far away.

They are our friends in heaven, there to help us.

We can be happy, remembering that

and remembering them.

So let’s finish with a happy song.

 

Final song: Jesus is my friend

Crocuses
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: mclcbooks via Compfight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *