The ‘B’ word ;)

 It may be Autumn, but I am doing a ‘Spring Clean’ on this blog.

This is one of a number of ‘draft posts’ I had saved.

I think now is as good as any time to post it.

 

As a parent and a teacher, I have strong views

about the use of the word ‘boring’.

Gregor Reviews I'm Bored by Michael Ian Black, Debbie Ridpath Ohi (illus)
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: jwordsmith via Compfight

Children can be bored.

In class I do my utmost,

to ensure this is not the case.

 

But I think allowing one’s children

to use the word,

gives them a ‘button to press’

in order to get a reaction from adults.

 

I ask the children in my class

not to use the ‘b’ word!

 

Instead we have learned a list of words

that can be used instead of  ‘boring’.

 

For example:

dull

tedious

monotonous

repetitious

routine

humdrum

flat

unvaried

tiresome

or

wearisome.

 

I love not hearing the ‘b’ word

and hearing the children use

a variety of interesting words instead.

 

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *