Audioboo – Time for Grammar – Nouns and Naming Words

We are learning about nouns and naming words.

A noun is the name of anything.

 

Sometimes it is helpful to say

‘If I can take a photograph of something, it is a noun’.

But this is not always true.

Some nouns would be hard to take pictures of.

Many of these special nouns end in -ness.

For example: happiness and sadness.

These special nouns are called ‘abstract’ nouns.

 

Love is a noun but it would be hard to take a picture of it.


Clara drew of picture of what love means to her.

Nicole also drew one.

So did Niamh.

 

Learn a little more about nouns that you could not take a photograph of!

 

We gave examples of nouns we knew on this Audioboo:

 

These are nouns you could not take a photograph of:

 

Abstract Nouns – Part 2


Senan drew a picture to illustrate the abstract noun ‘sound’.

It would be challenging to take a photograph of a ‘noise’ or a ‘sound’.

2 thoughts on “Audioboo – Time for Grammar – Nouns and Naming Words

  1. Greetings from the USA!
    Thank you so very much for posting messages on our class blog. That was very thoughtful. I am browsing your web page, and I must say that I am very impressed! You have inspired me to investigate AudioBoo as a way to document what we are learning. I decided to leave a note on this page because I have been thinking a lot lately about abstract nouns. On Monday, our country honored the life and legacy of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. He was a leader in the civil rights movement of the 1960s. I hope you will listen to his “I Have A Dream” speech and listen for the words “freedom”, “hope”, and “justice”. Thank you again for you note.
    Kelley Theodocion
    http://kidblog.org/LMS_Theodocion

  2. Thank you too for your encouraging comments.
    Today we enjoyed reading Heidi’s New Year’s Resolution to paint more.
    We have left a comment on her blog.

    Glad you saw the potential of Audioboo.
    It is very uncomplicated to use, which is one of the reasons I like to use it.
    The community there and those who manage the site are very helpful and friendly too.

    I in turn, saw the potential of ‘Word Mover’ on your blog
    and intend to use it with my class.

    With every good wish and thank you again
    Merry Beau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *