#GoogleDoodles: Introducing Venn Diagrams: A gift for teachers from Google!

Do you get it? probably by @DaveWalker
Photo Credit: Duncan Hull via Compfight

Today’s Google Doodle is a gift to teachers who would like

to introduce their students in an interactive way to

the wonderful invention of John Venn; Venn Diagrams.

 

Click here to see the inventive animation

that the designer Mike Dutton has come up with.

 

As a primary teacher I could also see great potential

in today’s Google Doodle, for language development.

I will be saving this to my favourites and look forward

to using this with my classes in September 🙂

Thank you Google. It’s the gift that keeps on giving.

6 thoughts on “#GoogleDoodles: Introducing Venn Diagrams: A gift for teachers from Google!

  1. Thanks for this great post. I had not seen this Google Doodle and it is indeed a great example of Venn diagrams in action.

    Mrs S

  2. Hello again, Mrs. S

    And thank you for your comment. I think Google Doodles may be regional so perhaps this one wasn’t featured in the Southern Hemisphere. I love Venn diagrams but have found it hard to get my enthusiasm across to students sometimes, so I hope this animation will help.

    I was wondering too, are there other Google Doodles that would have potential in class. I looked them up and there may be some possibilities. I just know that when I turn on the computer each morning and the children see the Google Doodle on the IWB screen, it will often start a conversation and bring us to places that are not on my curricular plans. I reassure myself that this is good for their oral language development. I’m sure you find this too. Sometimes you just have to run with an opportunity.

    With every good wish,
    Merry Beau

  3. Dear Merrybeau

    We are a mixed Grade (aged 9-12yrs) Montessori class in Cape Town, South Africa.

    We also played with the Venn diagram Google doodle the other morning on our smart board. we had lots of fun with it. Each child got a chance to make a combination and what they had in common.

    Miss Tyler-Smith
    http://m9-12.blogspot.com/

  4. Thank you, Mrs. S,
    that is great to hear.
    I look forward to visiting the link you sent and leaving a comment.
    With every good wish

  5. Dear Miss Tyler-Smith and class,

    Thank you for your comment. It sounds like each student had fun and learned from the Google Doodle. We are on our Summer holidays until the 1st September, but I am really looking forward to using this animation with my students.

    I think it is great that students globally are united in their enjoyment of maths.

    I had visited your interesting class blog before and must pop in again.

    With every good wish,

    Merry Beau

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *