Fourth Class: Learning about idioms: A Letter Home (Visitor to Ireland confused by idioms!)

catnap
Photo Credit: jenny downing via Compfight

Dear Mum,

 

Though the family I am staying with are very kind,

I am finding it very strange here in Ireland.

When I arrived they told me not to 

let the cat out of the bag but that 

there would be a surprise party

for their Grandmother.

But they didn’t HAVE a cat.

Perhaps it didn’t like being in a bag

and had run away. 

 

Then they said that Mum had already

spilled the beans

and that Granny was all ears.

She sound like an alien to me.

Then I counted and Granny

only had two ears, like you and me.

 

Then Dad gave Mum a ring to say that

he would be late because

he was tied up in traffic.

I asked would I call the Police

but they said it was ok,

that the traffic was very heavy

because it was raining cats and dogs.

 

This is a crazy country

but it is fun. There is never a dull moment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *