‘Prayer of a Donkey’ by Carmen Bernos De Gasztol

THE PRAYER OF A DONKEY

by Carmen Bernos De Gasztol

fauxhawk
Photo Credit: sookie via Compfight

O God, who made me to trudge along the road always,

to carry heavy loads always

and to be beaten always !

Give me great courage and gentleness.

 

One day let somebody understand me …

that I may no longer want to weep

because I can never say what I mean

and they make fun of me.

 

Thistle
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: Colin via Compfight

 

Let me find a juice thistle …

and make them give me time to pick it.

And Lord, one day, let me find again

my little brother at the Christmas crib.

 

Amen

 

This poem is a useful model for writing others.

See ‘Prayer of a Teacher’ by Stephanie W.

You could try writing ‘Prayer of a Student’ 🙂 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *